CURRENT GIVEAWAYS

Here are my current Giveaway Contests


The Stepmom Shake-Up through July 4th


Cattywampus through July 18th

Upcoming Agent Spotlight Interviews and Guest Posts w/ Debut Authors & Query Critique Giveaways

Veronica Roth Agent Spotlight Interview and Query Critique Giveaway on 8/19/20

Carlisle Webber Agent Spotlight Interview and Query Critique Giveaway on 9/7/20

Erin Casey Agent Spotlight Interview and Query Critique Giveaway on 9/16/20

Adria Goetz and G.Z. Schmidt Guest Post and Query Critique Giveaway on 10/19/20

Amy Brewer and Dana Swift Guest Post and Query Critique Giveaway on 11/3/20

Agent Spotlight: Alex Slater

This week's Agent Spotlight features Alex Slater of Trident Media Group, LLC
Status: Open to submissions.
10303297_667025670000147_5269923212573038124_n.agent About: “Alexander Slater graduated from the University of Connecticut with a B.A. in English Literature and a Concentration in Creative Writing. As Fiction Editor for the university’s literary journal, Alex participated in the Summer Literary Seminars in St. Petersburg, Russia. His first job in publishing was shortly thereafter, as intern and then literary assistant at the Maria Carvainis Agency in Manhattan. In 2010, he began working as an assistant to two agents at Trident Media Group, and has been with the agency ever since.
"Within Trident, Alex spent several years as a Foreign Rights Agent, specializing in representing the company’s middle grade and young adult authors in the foreign marketplace, securing hundreds of translation and English language in the U.K. sub rights sales, and placing books with publishers in dozens of countries.
"Alex has been Trident’s representative at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair in Italy multiple times, and has also routinely attended the London and Frankfurt Book Fairs. The perspective and knowledge gleaned from his extensive experience in the foreign market continues to guide his work today as a Literary Agent.
"Since beginning to build his list in 2014, Alex’s clients include Keah Brown, Ali Novak, Jonathan Hill, Janae Marks, and several other award winning and New York Times bestselling authors. He is most interested in stories that blend genres, in characters that have been historically underrepresented, and in voices that enrapture him to the point of missing his subway stop. His list focuses intently on middle grade and young adult fiction and nonfiction, but peppered throughout are adult thrillers, literary fiction, Coen Brothers-esque crime noir, pop culture, narrative nonfiction, and in particular, graphic novels for all ages.
Alex lives in Brooklyn with his wife, son, and their cat, Mishmash. Follow his infrequent tweets @abuckslater.” (Link)
About the Agency:
“Trident Media Group (TMG) is a prominent literary agency in New York City dedicated to championing authors throughout their careers. Founded in 2000, TMG represents a wide range of bestselling and distinguished authors, as well as newly emerging authors. Our clients have won major literary awards and prizes, including the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award, the P.E.N. Faulkner Award, the P.E.N. Hemingway Award, and The Booker Prize, among others.
"Our diverse group of literary agents are skilled in all genres of fiction and nonfiction. With an eye toward innovation, our clients are supported by dedicated departments in all areas of rights and career management. TMG’s robust Foreign Rights Department leads the industry in sales of both fiction and nonfiction abroad. Our author services include Digital Media & Marketing, Business Affairs & Administrative services, and Film & Dramatic rights sales.” (Link)
Web Presence:
Trident Media Group website.
Trident Media Facebook page.
Publishers Marketplace page.
Twitter @abuckslater.
#mswl on Twitter
LinkedIn.
What He's Looking For:
Genres / Specialties:
Middle grade and young adult fiction and non-fiction, general fiction, mystery, suspense/thriller (Link)
From His Manuscript Wish List:
"I’m looking for top notch young adult and middle grade fiction, especially books that readers connect with immediately, thanks to either strength of voice or originality of story. I’m happy to review contemporary, thriller, low fantasy, humor, and dark fiction. Something in a Coen Brother’s kind of vein, with quick plotting, dark laughs, and colorful characters, are all extremely ideal to my taste."
From an Interview (03/2015):
“I’m looking for strong, voice-driven fiction, and stories that demand that I continue turning the pages. I tend to lean towards more dark, offbeat themes and characters, while also finding fresh air in contemporary coming of age stories. I’m fond of telling writers to send me ‘Coen Brothers-esque’ fiction, as I feel their wide range of stories connect with bigger-than-life characters and dialogue. At the moment, I would love to see more historical magical realism and stories that involve Dead Poets Society type of worlds.” (Link)
Via Twitter (#MSWL):
4/20/2020:
"In looking for new projects, he hopes to find smart and innovative thrillers, as well as witty and orginial rom-coms in the YA space, and then speculative, horror, or grounded sci-fi and fantasty fiction for middle grade readers. All stories must have that urgency all the best stories for children share, and be from writers passionate about their voice and eager to engage in the diverse and dynamic conversation ongoing in contemporary literature."
“Somebody send me ‘KING DORK in space.’” (Link)
“ICYMI: YA historical crime, like THE ALIENIST for a new generation. Let it exist in forgotten worlds too, like the old Penn Station.” (Link)
“Not really interested in Garcia Marquez-type of ‘magical realism.’ More like Kids In The Hall-type of ‘magical realism.’” (Link)
“I think I'll always have a soft spot for books that take place in the course of a single night or weekend.” (Link)
“Late 19th century NYC fascinates me. Looking for MG/YA historical, in the vein of THE KNICK, THE ALIENIST, with a Tom Ripley-esque MC.” (Link)
“Would love to see middle grade and YA stories that remind me of WINGER and DEAD POETS SOCIETY. Add diversity and show me a new voice.” (Link)
“Send me YA nonfiction..stories about peculiar historical figures you didn't learn about in school like Boston Corbett.” (Link)
“Novel of a young girl seeking revenge for murdered daredevil father in 1920s. True Grit meets Man on Wire.” (Link)
“Novel of a young boy who saves Crazy Boston Corbett, who pursued & killed John Wilkes Booth, from the Great Hinckley Fire of 1894.” (Link)
“Novel that takes place in the old Penn Station with a newsgirl, a young freighthopper & a dead body found with a bag of $50K in cash.” (Link)
“I want The Cabin in the Woods meets The Breakfast Club.” (Link)
“I'd love to see gothic MG mystery, crime, or horror fiction...a book that feels like it exists in an Edward Gorey illustration.” (Link)
“Looking for edgy YA fiction with colorful characters/lots of dark humor/sporadic brutality/hilarious non sequiturs/VOICE that binds.” (Link)
What He Isn't Looking For:
“I would not be the right agent to represent high fantasy or paranormal romance. Personally I think anything can sell if it connects with enough hearts, but obviously we’re seeing a downtrend in vampires and dystopias. Or at least, I like to tell myself we are.” (Link)
Editorial Agent?
“I am an editorial agent and as such I look for clients who are open-minded and willing to work as a team.” (Link)
Clients: There is a list of Mr. Slater's clients on the agency website. They include Molly Booth, Amy Ephron, Blair Holden, Jodi Kendall, Janae Marks, Ali Novak, Adam Perry, among others.
Query Methods:
E-mail: No.
Snail-Mail: No.
Online-Form: Yes.
Submission Guidelines (always verify):
The agency only accepts exclusive submissions for 30 days. Simultaneous submissions will be blocked. "Your query should include only a paragraph about yourself, a brief plot synopsis and your contact information; it should not include a manuscript, a proposal, or any writing samples." (Link)
Query Tips:
“In the queries, I dislike it if I am addressed as, ‘Ms. Slater,’ simply because it shows immediately just how much research the author did on me. I also do not like queries that begin with background information about the writer. I want to know about the story from the first sentence, and if I’m hooked, then I’ll scroll down and read your bio. With fiction, story is always most important.” (Link)
Response Times:
Mr. Slater’s stated response time is 3-4 weeks.
What's the Buzz?
Trident Media is a highly respected agency with a fantastic roster of clients. Mr. Slater has been at the agency for 10 years. I recommend following him on Twitter @abuckslater.
Worth Your Time:
Interviews and Posts:
Agent Spotlight: Alex Slater at the Mixed Up Files (01/2020).
7 Questions for Literary Agent Alex Slater at Middle Grade Ninja (07/2015).
Agent Alex Slater Interview here at Literary Rambles (03/2015).
Meet Alexander Slater, Literary Agent from Trident Media Group at All the Write Stuff (02/2015).
Publishing in the International Market by Alexander Slater, Literary Agent, guest post at Insecure Writer’s Support Group (02/2015).
Free Fall Friday – Results at Writing and Illustrating (11/2014).
Creative Writing 2 Publishing Interview on YouTube (03/3013).
Contact:
Please see the Trident Media Group website for additional contact and query information.
Profile Details:
Last Updated: 5/31/2020.
Agent Contacted for Review? Yes
Last Reviewed By Agent? 4/2/15.
***
Have any experience with this agent? See something that needs updating? Please leave a comment or e-mail me at natalieiaguirre7(at)gmail(dot)com
Note: These agent profiles presently focus on agents who accept children's/teen fiction. They are not interviews. Please take the time to verify anything you might use here before querying. The information found herein is subject to change.





































































8 comments:

  1. Great interview, Casey. Trident is a great agency, and it sounds like Alex would be an amazing agent. Thanks for this spotlight!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi, Casey,

    I met Alex at the SCBWI conference in NYC this past February. SO it was great to see him featured here today! I certainly will be sending him a query this week or next. He critiqued my first 500 words at the round table event. He seems to like it and gave me some good advice. Hopefully he'll want to read more after my query!

    Thanks for the interview!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great interview, Casey. I am adding Alex to my list of agents to query.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wonderful spotlight. Trident looks like a wonderful agency. They are on my list of agents to query in the future.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great to meet Alex. Wish him luck in finding the stories he's looking for. They're out there--I know it.

    ReplyDelete
  6. What a terrific post. Thanks for all of this information.

    ReplyDelete
  7. He's not a match for my book but I will check out Trident's other agents! I haven't heard of them before. Thank you!

    ReplyDelete