Upcoming Agent Spotlight Interviews & Guest Posts

  • Kelly Dyksterhouse Agent Spotlight Interview and Query Critique Giveaway on 12/12/2022
  • Savannah Brooks Agent Spotlight Interview and Query Critique Giveaway on 12/19/2022

Agent Spotlight & Agent Spotlight Updates

  • All Agent Spotlights & Interviews have been updated as of 7/15/2020, and many have been reviewed by the agents. Look for them to be fully updated in 2023.

Agent Spotlight: Sara Crowe

This week's Agent Spotlight features Sara Crowe of Pippin Properties.
Sara CroweAbout: "Sara Crowe, Senior Agent, did not know what a literary agent was when she graduated from college, but was incredibly happy to find out that such a job existed and has never looked back. She began her career at The Wylie Agency and worked in foreign rights for eight years. For the last decade, she has been building a list of children's and adult fiction including many New York Times best selling and award-winning authors and titles. She loves finding new talent to champion, and nurturing and developing careers. More info can be found on her website."(Link)
Status: Closed to submissions.
What She’s Looking For:
Genres of interest: Children's picture books through young adult, fiction and nonfiction. Adult general fiction, thriller, suspense, fantasy, and science fiction per Publishers Marketplace.
From Ms. Crowe's website:
"Though it changes often, my wish list currently includes contemporary realistic graphic novel that would appeal to fans of ROLLER GIRL and SISTERS, and a YA version of WHERE’D YOU GO BERNADETTE with mystery and heart and humor. I am always looking for new YA and MG voices, and hoping to add more diverse stories and authors to my list. I am looking to be surprised by a story I have not heard before, and familiar stories and retellings told in a new way."
From 03/2010:
"I am very open to queries for children’s nonfiction, and do hope to find more. Many of my favorite books as a child were nonfiction, and it is something I remain interested in reading." (Link)
"I would love to see more YA memoir." (Link)
What She Isn't Looking For:
Self-help, health, business books, romance or poetry (Link)
Editorial Agent?
Yes. "I am an editorial agent and do think I am very hands-on. I edit everything I take on before it goes out to editors. If I see any sweeping changes that I think need to be made before submission, I talk to the writer about that when we discuss representation. And the editing does not stop with the first sale. I continue to edit my authors’ books, and to discuss their new book ideas with them. I usually read major revisions before we send to the editor, and I read and discuss synopses and partials, or sometimes just ideas, about what the author should do next." (Link)
About the agency:
"Pippin Properties, Inc. has spent the past 20 years helping build careers for authors and artists whose work stands the test of time, many of whom have become household names in their own right such as Kate DiCamillo, Katherine Applegate, Peter H. Reynolds, David Small, Doreen Cronin, Jason Reynolds, Nina LaCour, Erin Entrada Kelly, Jandy Nelson and Kathi Appelt. We also love to launch new careers for amazing authors and artists.
We are based in New York City and we use that to our great advantage, hosting regular portfolio parties to show off our artists’ work and visiting with editors and our own clients, as well as foreign publishers, scouts, and film producers, whenever they pass through the Big Apple as we foster friends and personal relationships across all genres of literature.
We have the editorial expertise required to help bring each project to its full potential, prior to submission, and we place nearly every project we submit. We’ll work as hard as you do, and we are avid caretakers of our clients’ projects, marketing plans, and careers, be it picture books, middle-grade, young adult, graphic, novelty, and adult trade projects. We grow as you grow, and are devoted to maintaining a standard of excellence in content unmatched in the industry. Additionally, we are committed to licensing every ancillary right to our books that we can, from live stage to theatrical to merchandise to audio. In tandem with our clients’ desires, we are interested in increasing the footprint of every property we represent." (Link)
Web Presence:
Pippin Properties website.
Personal website.
Publisher’s Marketplace page.
Twitter.
AgentQuery, QueryTracker.
Clients:
A complete, up-to-date list of clients is available on Ms. Crowe's website.
Query Methods:
Closed until further notice. Check Pippin Properties' and Ms. Crowe's website for submission guidelines once she reopens to submissions.
What’s the buzz?
Sara Crowe is a highly sought after agent who is very polite and professional. She has great experience in the industry, fabulous clients, and impressive sales. Her clients seem extremely pleased with her representation. Definitely follower her on twitter.
Worth Your Time:
Interviews:
Interview with Sara Crowe at Laurie Thompason's blog (03/2010)
7 Questions with Literary Agent Sara Crowe at Middle Grade Ninja (04/2011)
Interview with Literary Agent Sara Crowe at Pub Crawl (01/2013)
On the Website:
Keep an eye on Ms. Crowe's website for recent titles, deals, and news!
Contact:
Please see Ms. Crowe's website for contact and query information.
Profile Details:
Last updated: 4/24/20
Agent Contacted For Review? Yes - 5/22/10
Reviewed By Agent? No - no response.
Comments: N/A
***
Have any experience with this agent? See something that needs updating? Please leave a comment or e-mail me at natalieiaguirre7(at)gmail(dot)com.

Note: These agent profiles presently focus on agents who accept children's fiction. They are not interviews. Please take the time to verify anything you might use here before querying an agent. The information found herein is subject to change.

22 comments:

Anonymous said...

Sara's the best agent in the biz. Since 2005 she's sold seven novels for me, five nonfiction books, and a number of comic book scripts, all to major houses. Our most recent release is PATIENT ZERO, a thriller from St. Martins Griffin.

She absolutely rocks. She's also a great source for up-to-the-minute info on shifts and changes in publishing.

Casey Something said...

Thank you so much for chiming in, Jonathan. Your feed back is invaluable.

Ms. Crowe sounds like a fabulous agent!

PJ Hoover said...

She came and spoke at our SCBWI conference a couple years ago and was super nice!

Angela Ackerman said...

Great job here with this--thanks so much for putting it all together. I predict this will be very popular with writers!

Casey Something said...

Thanks for your input, PJ!

Glad you like it Angela!

Casey McCormick said...

Updated with latest info and interviews 05/17/2010.

Annalisa said...

Casey,
Do you have any idea what Sara's response time is on requested material?

By the way, I love this feature. I never query an agent without first coming here. It's such a wealth of information that's hard, or at least time consuming, to track down on your own.

Annalisa said...

Casey,
Do you have any idea what Sara's response time is on requested material?

By the way, I love this feature. I never query an agent without checking here first. It's such a wealth of information that's hard, or at least time consuming, to find out on your own. It's such a great service you provide.

Casey McCormick said...

Hi Emily,

I'm not sure, but I've seen some stats that suggest about a month.

Thanks and good luck! Please consider coming back to let us know when you get your response.

Annalisa said...

Casey,
Thanks for the info. I'll keep you updated about her response time. Crossing my fingers.

Sorry about the double post. I wasn't sure I'd hit the send button so I figured better safe than sorry.

Annalisa said...

Casey,
Sara's response time on a full was 6 weeks. I'm not sure on partials since she didn't request one from me, but that seems pretty quick and she was very nice.
Thanks for this series. I'd be in the dark without it.
Emily

Casey McCormick said...

Thanks for the update, Emily! Helpful to know. Good luck out there. I hope you're getting other requests!

Martha Ramirez said...

Awesome post. Great info as always. Thanks again, Casey! Also, thanks for the comments as well. Good to know:)

Becky Mahoney said...

Hey Casey! Just so you know, the "Queries That Worked" link leads to the blog post about revisions.

jmartinlibrary said...

I am also a client of Sara Crowe. And she is indeed AWESOME--a capable pro, in every way. :)

Casey McCormick said...

Thank you for the feedback, Jenny. She really does seem awesome!

Rebecca, I fixed the link. Thank you!

Becky Mahoney said...

Thanks Casey! And by the way, thanks to this post, I queried Sara and got a full request within four hours. OMG.

Casey McCormick said...

Yay! Good luck, Rebecca!

Chris Kreie said...

I queried Sara and, though I didn't get the answer I was hoping for, she did get back to me within hours. It was a bit humbling but at least she didn't keep me waiting.

Unknown said...

I queried Sara because of her track record and because her projects have a quirkiness that appealed to me. She requested a full very quickly and even read the manuscript while in the middle of moving! I signed with her last week because she GOT my manuscript. it was like she was the perfect reader -- one that understands my sense of humor but also has no problem expressing her appreciation of the little things. Made me feel very good on the phone. Very kind, down to earth personality; I look forward to working with her forever!

Casey McCormick said...

Congratulations, Evan! That's fantastic news, and I so appreciate the feedback. Wishing you both the best on the next leg of your journey.

kathrynjankowski said...

Sara is now a Senior Agent with Pippin Properties.